NW News Network http://nwnewsnetwork.org en Oregon County Turns Public Health Function Over To State http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/oregon-county-turns-public-health-function-over-state <p>Counties across the Northwest that are heavily dependent on timber revenue from federal lands have been struggling to provide public health services.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 00:34:19 +0000 Chris Lehman 1870 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Lawyers Fight To Move Accused 15-Year-Old Killer From Solitary Cell http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/lawyers-fight-move-accused-15-year-old-killer-solitary-cell <p>In north Idaho, a 15-year-old boy sits in an isolated jail cell awaiting trial for murder. Eldon Samuel III is accused of shooting to death his father and younger brother in March.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 00:18:59 +0000 Austin Jenkins 1869 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Lawyers Fight To Move Accused 15-Year-Old Killer From Solitary Cell Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/donors-pay-test-seawater-traces-fukushima-radiation <p>It's been more than three years since the Fukushima nuclear plant accident resulted in a spill of millions of gallons of radioactive cooling water into the Pacific. Oceanographers projected that it could take until this year for highly diluted traces of that spill in Japan to reach the West Coast of North America.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:47:48 +0000 Tom Banse 1868 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation ACLU Takes On Case Of Idaho Teen In Solitary Confinement http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/aclu-takes-case-idaho-teen-solitary-confinement <p>The <a href="https://acluidaho.org/aclu-of-idaho-asks-court-to-end-solitary-confinement-of-fifteen-year-old-child/">ACLU of Idaho</a> has joined the fight to move an accused teenage killer out of solitary confinement and back into juvenile detention.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:05:21 +0000 Austin Jenkins 1866 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org ACLU Takes On Case Of Idaho Teen In Solitary Confinement Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-gmo-labeling-initiative <p>An initiative that will give Oregonians the chance to vote on whether food companies should label products that contain genetically engineered ingredients <a href="http://egov.sos.state.or.us/elec/web_irr_search.record_detail?p_reference=20140044..ASCYYY">qualified for the November ballot</a> Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:05:15 +0000 Chris Lehman 1867 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative Historians Seek To Expand Knowledge Of Oregon's African-American History http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/historians-seek-expand-knowledge-oregons-african-american-history <p>We all have an image of the Oregon Trail: the covered wagon, mom with her bonnet, and dad handling the mules with a couple of kids riding shotgun. In that image, they’re probably all white.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:06:48 +0000 Chris Lehman 1865 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Historians Seek To Expand Knowledge Of Oregon's African-American History Inslee Says Feds Will Help Restore Power In Fire Zone http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/inslee-says-feds-will-help-restore-power-fire-zone <p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee said Tuesday President Obama has pledged immediate federal aid to help fire-swept areas of north central Washington.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:42:12 +0000 Austin Jenkins 1864 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Inslee Says Feds Will Help Restore Power In Fire Zone Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-marijuana-legalization-november <p>An initiative to legalize recreational marijuana in Oregon qualified for the November ballot Tuesday.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 23:59:47 +0000 Chris Lehman 1863 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November Fire Evacuees Find Help With Donation Centers, Shelters http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/fire-evacuees-find-help-donation-centers-shelters <p>The Okanogan County Sheriff’s Department ordered more homeowners to evacuate Monday afternoon. These newest evacuations came after firefighters saw a brief relief from high winds and hot weather Sunday.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:02:20 +0000 Courtney Flatt 1862 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Fire Evacuees Find Help With Donation Centers, Shelters Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/wildfire-season-starts-early-and-vengeance <p>So far, more than 150 homes in Washington state have been destroyed in what veteran firefighters are calling the worst fire season in decades.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:26:33 +0000 Chris Lehman 1861 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance