NW News Network http://nwnewsnetwork.org en Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/washington-ethics-board-consider-crackdown-lobbyist-paid-meals <p>By next January, Washington lawmakers should have clearer guidance on when it’s OK to accept free meals from lobbyists.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:26:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 1595 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/flags-lowered-across-washington-honor-landslide-victims <p>Flags are flying at half mast across Washington state this afternoon to honor victims of last month's deadly landslide.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:16:02 +0000 Tom Banse 1594 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:05:29 +0000 Anna King 1593 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 00:40:32 +0000 Anna King 1592 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/washington-senate-majority-leader-tom-wont-seek-re-election <p>One of the most influential and controversial members of the Washington legislature made a bombshell announcement Monday.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:55:34 +0000 Austin Jenkins 1591 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/washingtons-wildfire-season-officially-starts-tuesday <p>Wildfire season officially starts on April 15 in Washington state.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon and Idaho have rolling starts to fire precaution rules depending on local conditions.</span></p><p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 00:21:14 +0000 Tom Banse 1590 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/does-legalized-marijuana-put-washington-drivers-risk-out-state <p>Some drivers from Washington and Colorado say they're being targeted by police when they cross into Idaho.</p><p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 00:03:09 +0000 Chris Lehman 1589 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <p>Thanks to late-season snow that fell at many area some Cascade ski areas will welcome skiers and snowboarders well past Easter.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:07:41 +0000 Tom Banse 1588 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce Oregon, Washington Consider Alternative To Amtrak For Cascades Rail Service http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/oregon-washington-consider-alternative-amtrak-cascades-rail-service <p>Oregon and Washington might turn to a private company to operate its Cascades rail service.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:37:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 1587 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Oregon, Washington Consider Alternative To Amtrak For Cascades Rail Service Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms http://nwnewsnetwork.org/post/water-supply-rebounds-across-most-northwest-after-march-storms <p>Irrigators, hydropower dam operators and tugboat captains are sitting pretty across most of the Northwest according to the <a href="http://www.nwrfc.noaa.gov/ws/">latest regional water supply forecast</a>.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:58:39 +0000 Tom Banse 1586 at http://nwnewsnetwork.org Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms